Twenty-six representatives from the National 1 and the National 2 North have been selected for Lancashire’s senior men’s squad.

Fylde, who sit at the bottom of National 1, have had eight players selected for Lancashire’s games in the Bill Beaumont Senior Men’s County Championship that will take part at Northumberland’s Percy Park on the 5th of May, 12th of May and concluding on the 19th of May.

National 2 North table toppers Sale FC will be represented in county colours by 12 of their players in the upcoming fixtures. Week eight player of the week Chris Johnson is included in the squad, as well as week 16’s player of the week Anthony Bingham.  The centre and wing will be hoping to offer the same attacking threat for their county that they have offered their club this season.

Sale’s players will be joined by representatives of their closest rivals in National 2 North, Sedgley Park. Sedgley have had six players selected by Lancashire for the upcoming fixtures.

Only one point adrift of Sale FC in the league, Sedgley’s contingent includes the impressive Manchester Metropolitan University student Hallam Chapman. Chapman is joined by team-mate Callum McShane who so competently maintains tempo from scrum-half for the Whitfield side

Lancashire’s coaches will hope that the Sedgley players can bring the attacking prowess that has seen the side pick up 23 try bonus points. This is also the reason why they are still in with a good chance of toppling Sale from the top of the table in the remaining fixtures of the season.

North Premier champions Preston Grasshoppers have had eight players picked for county duty. Talismanic number eight Matt Lamprey will hope to bring his effective ball carrying into the county game in order to continue his remarkable season. Jake Squirrell, their goal kicking scrum-half is also included.

Rossendale, also in North Premier, have had Lewis Allen and Reece Tomlinson selected. Former Sedgley player Ben Dorrington, the goal kicking flanker, is one of two representatives from Vale of Lune. Finally, Scott Armstrong completes the squad. The Kirkby Lonsdale back is the only representative from his club.

Lancashire Squad:

Adam Aigbokhae, Tom Ailes, Jake Barron, Anthony Bingham, Dan Birchall, Rhys Davies, Simon Griffiths, Andrew Hughes, Chris Johnson, Chris Mayor, Gaz Rawlings, Sam Stelmazek (All Sale FC), Tom Burtonwood, Tom Carleton, Dave Fairbrother, Ben Gregory, Adam Lewis, Alex Loney, Ben Vurnon, Connor Wilkinson (All Fylde), Peter Altham, Niall Crosley, Scott Jordan, Matt Lamprey, Oga Mabaya, Alastair Murray, Jake Squirrell, Sam Stott (All Preston), Bob Birtwell, Hallam Chapman, Robert Holloway, Daniel Maher, Callum Mcshane, Ashley Platt-Hughes (All Sedgley Tigers), Lewis Allen, Reece Tomlinson (Both Rossendale), Ben Dorrington, Evan Stuart (Both Vale of Lune) and Scott Armstrong (Kirkby Lonsdale)