Last Thursday, the fixtures for the 2024/25 season were released and it signalled the beginning of preparations for another National League Rugby campaign. (Photo Credit: Baz Johnson)

It has been six weeks since the curtain came down on the 2023/24 term which saw Chinnor, Rotherham Titans, Esher and Dings Crusaders all lift silverware.

And as soon as the final whistle was blown, our media team had some decisions to make. Who would be included in our ‘Teams of the Season’?

Which individuals, in our eyes, had shone the brightest? Who produced solid performances consistently? Who was indispensable to their team?

As ever, putting these teams together was difficult and of course, some won’t agree with the selections but here were our final choices for National One, National Two North, National Two East and National Two West…

National One

15: Tom Putt (Plymouth Albion)

14: Charlie Walker (Rosslyn Park)

13: Morgan Passman (Chinnor) – After signing from Darlington Mowden Park, Passman – alongside James Bourton – proved to be a championship-winning midfield for Chinnor.

12: James Bourton (Chinnor)

11: Aquile Smith (Birmingham Moseley)

10: George Worboys (Chinnor) – A standout performer in the eyes of several opposition coaches.

9: Luke Carter (Chinnor)

1: Ramaz Rukhadze (Plymouth Albion)

2: Alun Walker (Chinnor) – Rams’ Max Hayman very unlucky to miss out.

3: James Baker (Rams)

4: Conor Brockschmidt (Chinnor)

5: Dan Swain (Rams) – Another solid season for the excellent Rams forward.

6: Matt Bolwell (Rosslyn Park)

7: Max Clementson (Chinnor)

8: Willie Ryan (Chinnor)

Top Points Scorer: Warren Seals (Sedgley Park) – 229

Top Try Scorer: Max Hayman (Rams RFC) – 26

Director of Rugby/Head Coach(s) of the Year: Nick Easter (Chinnor)

National Two North

15: Kieran Davies (Leeds Tykes) – Electric first half of the season for the Tykes. Hull Ionians’ Lewis Minkin 100 per cent deserves a notable mention.

14: Sam Taylor (Otley)

13: Lloyd Hayes (Rotherham Titans) – The Titans’ talisman as Rotherham secured the title. Highest points scorer across the whole of National League Rugby.

12: Tom Williams (Leeds Tykes)

11: Christian Hooper (Sheffield)

10: Tom Shard (Lymm) – Some influential performances from the fly-half helped secure another season in National Two North for Lymm.

9: Elliot Fisher (Sheffield) – Argubably the star in an excellent Sheffield side which finished the campaign in third.

1: Toby Williams (Leeds Tykes) – Leeds Tykes’ Coaches’ Player and Supporters Player of the Year. Charlie Capps at Rotherham also had a monumental season.

2: Ben Gregory (Fylde) – Another brilliant term for the Fylde hooker earnt him a contract at National One club Sedgley Park.

3: Jake Armstrong (Wharfedale)

4: John Okafor (Rotherham Titans) – A man mountain in the Rotherham forwards.

5: Dom Parsons (Sheffield)

6: Alex Fawdry (Sheffield)

7: Laurence Cowen (Rotherham Titans)

8: Ryan Burrows (Sheffield) – A standout performer for Sheffield in a very effective pack.

Top Points Scorer: Lloyd Hayes (Rotherham Titans) – 327

Top Try Scorer: Sam Taylor (Otley) – 24

Director of Rugby/Head Coach(s) of the Year: Gareth Lewis (Rotherham Titans) – Outgoing head coach – along with Harvey Biljon – guided the Yorkshire club to promotion.

National Two East

15: Toby Wallace (Westcombe Park) – Excellent term from full-back. A vital component in Westcombe Park’s positive season.

14: Toby McRae (Dorking) – Another superb season for the Dorking flyer.

13: Barney Stone (Sevenoaks) – Adam Bowman is building a young and exciting team at Sevenoaks and Barney Stone is very much proof of that.

12: Henry Anscombe (Dorking)

11; James Botterill (Esher) – Top try-scorer across the whole of National League Rugby.

10: Sam Morley (Esher)

9: Josh Davies (Barnes) – Terrific for Jack Heald’s charges as Barnes finished second. Esher’s Pierre Thompson extremely close.

1: Alex Wood (Barnes)

2: Will Holling (Tonbridge Juddians) – Excellent in a strong second half of the season for TJs.

3: Theo Skoumbourdis (Esher)

4: Marcus Lowe (Henley)

5: Jasper King (Dorking)

6: Will Benning (Henley)

7: Tom Nicoll (Tonbridge Juddians)

8: Finn Osborne (Dorking)

Top Points Scorer: Frank Reynolds (Canterbury) – 283

Top Try Scorer: James Botterill – (Esher) 36

Director of Rugby/Head Coach(s) of the Year: Peter Winterbottom (Esher)

National Two West

15: Josh Watkins (Luctonians)

14: Charlie Grimes (Luctonians) – Unstoppable at times for Ryan Watkins’ troops.

13: Matt Smith (Dings Crusaders)

12: Lewis Parkes (Luctonians)

11: Nathan Decalmer (Bournville) – Scored some stunning tries but his all-court game lit up Avery Fields.

10: Ashley Groves (Old Redcliffians)

1: Connor Deignan (Luctonians)

2: Ben Priddey (Camborne) – Top points and try scorer in the league. Clearly a big part in Camborne’s solid first season back at level four.

3: Joe White (Luctonians)

4: Oliver Bilton (Dings Crusaders) – Some big shifts from the second-row en route to Dings sealing an historic promotion.

5: Will Thompson (Dings Crusaders)

6: Archie Benson (Luctionians) – A superb season saw Benson sign a contract with Premiership finalists Northampton Saints. Player pathway.

7: Jalen Curry (Old Redcliffians) – Brilliant in the back-row as Old Reds finished in fourth spot.

8: Harry Hone (Dings Crusaders)

Top Points Scorer: Ben Priddey – (Camborne) 155

Top Try Scorer: Ben Priddey – (Camborne) 31

Director of Rugby/Head Coach(s) of the Year: Dan Cox + Craig Owen (Old Redcliffians)

Make sure you follow National League Rugby on social media!

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | LinkedIn | YouTube | TikTok | Threads